November 2, 2010

The Honourable Tony Clement Minister of Industry Government of Canada Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6

The Honourable James Moore Minister of Canadian Heritage Government of Canada Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6

## Dear Ministers;

As strong supporters of the principle of efficient and effective copyright laws that will be the underpinning of a digital society based on intellectual property and which will contribute greatly to Canada's prosperity in the 21st Century, the undersigned organizations are strongly supportive of the position of the Canadian Private Copying Collective with regards to compensation to songwriters, music publishers, artists and record labels for use of their works. The issue that is of major concern is that of a levy on Digital Audio Recording devices (DAR) such as MP3 players.

We agree with the CPCC that the exclusion of compensation to creators for the copying of sound recordings onto these devices as proposed in Bill C-32 is unjustifiable.

Given the reality of technology and usage in the modern world, a *Copyright Act* that effectively says that our creative work is valueless in this process is unacceptable.

We concur completely with the arguments and concerns expressed by the CPCC and are totally supportive of their representatives and lobbying in this regard.

## Yours Sincerely,

Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists National

**ARTISTI** 

Association québécoise de l'industrie du disque, du spectacle et de la vidéo

Canadian Actors' Equity Association

Canadian Artists' Representation

Canadian Conference of the Arts

Canadian Federation of Musicians

Canadian Independent Music Association

Canadian Music Publishers Association

Canadian Musical Reproduction Rights Agency

Musicians' Rights Organization Canada

Professional Music Publishers Association

Quebec Collective Society for the Rights of Makers of Sound and Video Recordings Regroupement des associations d'artistes en arts visuels du Québec Société professionnelle des auteurs et des compositeurs du Québec Society for Reproduction Rights of Authors, Composers and Publishers in Canada Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada The Writer's Union of Canada Union des artistes

cc: Charlie Angus MP

Robert Bouchard MP

Marc Garneau MP

Carole Lavallée MP

Brian Masse MP

Pablo Rodriguez MP

Eric Baptiste Chief Executive Officer SOCAN

Gerald Beaulieu President CARFAC

Lyette Bouchard Executive Director SOPROQ

Mario Chénart President SPACQ

Ferne Downey President ACTRA National

Solange Drouin Vice-President of Public Affairs and Executive Director ADISQ

Alain Lauzon General Manager SODRAC

Raymond Legault President UDA

Lise Létourneau President RAAV

Duncan McKie President CIMA

David Murphy President APEM

Marie Denise Pelletier President ARTISTI

Alain Pineau National Director CCA

Caroline Rioux Vice-President, Operations CMRRA

Len Lytwyn Executive Director MROC

Arden R. Ryshpan Executive Director CAEA

Catharine Saxberg Executive Director CMPA

Bill Skolnick Vice-President Canadian Federation of Musicians

Deborah Windsor Executive Director The Writer's Union of Canada